Fwd: WebIDE is now in Firefox Nightly

David Ascher da at mozillafoundation.org
Mon Jun 23 09:18:33 PDT 2014



Begin forwarded message:

> From: Christian Heilmann <cheilmann at mozilla.com>
> Subject: WebIDE is now in Firefox Nightly
> Date: June 23, 2014 at 8:34:02 AM PDT
> To: Paul Jarratt <pjarratt at mozilla.com>, engagement-developers Engagement <engagement-developers at lists.mozilla.org>, Technical Evangelism team <techevan at mozilla.com>, allevangelismreps at mozilla.org
> Cc: Jason Weathersby <jweathersby at mozilla.com>, Mark Coggins <mcoggins at mozilla.com>, Dave Camp <dcamp at mozilla.com>, Jeff Griffiths <jgriffiths at mozilla.com>, Robert Nyman <robert at mozilla.com>, Paul Rouget <paul at mozilla.com>, Angelina Fabbro <afabbro at mozilla.com>
> 
> 
> Here's a massive breakthrough in developer tools: Nightly now comes with the WebIDE enabled. 
> 
> WebIDE allows you not only to debug apps inside Firefox, but also create new ones from scratch based on the mortar templates (https://github.com/mozilla/mortar). Instead of just being a debugging suite you now have a full multi-file editor with autocompletion and a packaging system in the browser. This turns any Firefox users into a potential app creator. You can run your apps in local runtimes or on connected devices.
> 
> Here are the outreach posts:
> 
> Blog:
> https://hacks.mozilla.org/2014/06/webide-lands-in-nightly/
> 
> Screencast: 
> https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=n8c34wk4OnY
> 
> Hacker News: 
> https://news.ycombinator.com/item?id=7932403
> Tweets:
> https://twitter.com/codepo8/status/481094168731607040
> https://twitter.com/mozhacks/status/481094846333997056
> Google+:
> https://plus.google.com/u/0/+ChristianHeilmann/posts/i7C3BmReh3N
> 
> ArsTechnica:
> http://arstechnica.com/information-technology/2014/06/mozilla-puts-a-development-environment-into-the-browser-with-webide/?utm_medium=twitter&utm_source=twitterfeed
> 
> Thanks to all involved, especially Dave Camp, Paul Rouget, Paul Jarrat and the team who created this great piece of Firefox. 
> 
> Nobody does something similar and this is just the start!
> 
> Chris
> _______________________________________________
> allevangelismreps mailing list
> allevangelismreps at mozilla.org
> https://mail.mozilla.org/listinfo/allevangelismreps

-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL: <http://mail.mozilla.org/pipermail/webmaker-dev/attachments/20140623/ffca0582/attachment.html>


More information about the Webmaker-dev mailing list