? "Set Up an Existing Account" ? -- Re: UI mock-up - Account Setup Rev.2

Tanstaafl tanstaafl at libertytrek.org
Fri May 3 17:55:58 UTC 2019


On Fri May 03 2019 13:38:22 GMT-0400 (Eastern Standard Time), Alessandro
Castellani <alessandro at thunderbird.net> wrote:
> This is a first step of an ongoing work that doesn't currently have a
> release or end date. We will implement these changes slowly and
> carefully, section by section, in order to make it right and not rush it.
> 
>     Option to use same credentials for outgoing as incoming
>     bug 543827 - https://bugzilla.mozilla.org/show_bug.cgi?id=543827
> 
>     I just threw together a mock-up adding two options and uploaded it to
>     the bug above but essentially, it just adds two lines below the
>     'Remember password' option, like this:
> 
>     [ ] Remember password
>     [x] Use only secure settings
>     [x] Use same settings for sending mail
> 
>     As pictured, i also think they (the two new options I am proposing)
>     should be enabled by default.
> 
> I wouldn't recommend this. TB should try to do all this in the
> background (which I think it already does),

No, no, no. You are not understanding, and I hope you will read what I
am about to write and reconsider.

Thunderbird has never had an option to use the same credentials for
outgoing as for incoming, and it is the only email client that i am
aware of that still does not have this option.

I understand that during Account Creation, it does 'sort of' do this,
because it has a place for both incoming and outgoing passwords - but
this is absolutely not the same as having an option to use the same.

Proof: change your email password after successfully setting up an account.

You are prompted for it twice - once for receiving new email, then
again, the first time you try to send.

As for the other option to 'Use only secure settings', I don't think we
should hide these kinds of things from users. Make it easy, yes. Have
sane defaults, yes. Enabling that option would simply prevent TB from
ever falling back to non-secure settings when (not if - nothing is
perfect, it will happen) it fails to find secure settings. This protects
the user from shooting themselves in the foot.

Of course, a helpful pop-up should be presented, explaining the problem
in detail, and offering ways to fix the problem.

This was always very confusing and frustrating for our users, and a
major support pain point for me.

Having the option and having it enabled, any time a user


More information about the tb-planning mailing list