Thunderbird Council: Voting Process

Gervase Markham gerv at
Tue Feb 16 12:24:46 UTC 2016

The following message gives the arrangements for the approval vote for
the new Thunderbird Council.

Do NOT send votes to tb-planning.


Voting opens at 00:00:01 UTC on Saturday 20th February. The deadline
for sending votes is 23:59:59 UTC on Friday 26rd February, one week later.

This may be delayed in the unlikely event that Mozilla IT don't set up
the voting email address in time.


Voters will be approving or rejecting the following motion:

"The Thunderbird community endorses the following list of candidates to
form a Thunderbird Council and lead the project until either a) one year
has elapsed from the date this motion passes, or b) an organizational
home is chosen and a new governance model is put in place. A condition
of approval is that, in the case of b), the new Council commits to
working in good faith with the new organizational home to implement
governance arrangements which are acceptable to that organization, in a
timely fashion. Or, if the organization has no governance requirements,
the Council commits to consult on and implement a governance reform process.

If vacancies arise on the Council during its period of office, the
Council may leave them unfilled, or fill them using a mechanism of its
own choosing.

The list of candidates is:

Florian Quèze
Joshua Cranmer
Jörg Knobloch
Kent James
Magnus Melin
Matt Harris
Patrick Cloke
Philipp Kewisch
Wayne Mery"


Eligible voters are those who were subscribed to tb-planning as of 27th
January 2016, or who are unsubscribed now but have posted to the list in
2015 or 2016.

Voting Process

Voting will be by secret ballot. To vote, please send an email to:

thunderbird-vote at

from the email address which is subscribed to tb-planning at
Votes must clearly indicate "Yes" or "No", in English. Unclear votes
will be disregarded. The last clear vote from any voter before the
deadline will be the one accepted.

Submission email addresses will be checked against the tb-planning
subscriber list for an _exact_ (case-insensitive) match. If you are
claiming eligibility based on previous interactions rather than current
subscription, you must include a link to a Google Group archived message
that you posted to the list (from the email address you are voting with)
on or after 1st January 2015.

The scrutineers will examine the message to attempt to determine the
sending date and time, but it is advised that you not vote close to the
deadline. The last-dated clear vote from any address will be counted.
Individual voters should not attempt to vote from more than one
subscribed address; anyone caught doing so will be publicly named.

Voters may choose, if they wish, to sign their votes using email signing

Counting and Reporting

The email address above sends copies of the voting emails to the
scrutineers, Gervase Markham and Ben Bucksch, who has kindly agreed to
serve in this capacity alongside me. Both scrutineers commit to keeping
the votes confidential.

Once the deadline passes, the scrutineers will independently count the
votes, and in case of a difference, reconcile the discrepancy until they
are as agreed as possible. They will then report the result to the
tb-planning mailing list, giving:

* Number of Yes votes
* Number of No votes
* Number of votes discounted due to being unclear
* Number of votes discounted due to voter ineligibility
* Number of votes discounted due to being late or early
* Number of votes discounted because the two scrutineers could not
  agree on a determination

The motion shall be considered passed if the number of Yes votes
strictly exceeds the number of No votes. If the number of votes in the
final category listed above is equal to or greater than the margin of
victory, the ballot shall be re-run.


More information about the tb-planning mailing list