[rust-dev] Rust 0.2 released

Graydon Hoare graydon at mozilla.com
Thu Mar 29 16:44:43 PDT 2012

Mozilla and the Rust community are pleased to announce version 0.2 of
the Rust compiler and associated tools.

Version 0.2 should still be considered an alpha release, suitable for
early adopters and language enthusiasts. Please file bugs at

This release is available as both a tarball and a windows installer:

   * http://dl.rust-lang.org/dist/rust-0.2.tar.gz

   * http://dl.rust-lang.org/dist/rust-0.2-install.exe

Thanks to everybody who has contributed[1].

The Rust Team

Version 0.2  (March 2012)

   * >1500 changes, numerous bugfixes

   * New docs and doc tooling

   * New port: FreeBSD x86_64

   * Compilation model enhancements
      * Generics now specialized, multiply instantiated
      * Functions now inlined across separate crates

   * Scheduling, stack and threading fixes
      * Noticeably improved message-passing performance
      * Explicit schedulers
      * Callbacks from C
      * Helgrind clean

   * Experimental new language features
      * Operator overloading
      * Region pointers
      * Classes

   * Various language extensions
      * C-callback function types: 'crust fn ...'
      * Infinite-loop construct: 'loop { ... }'
      * Shorten 'mutable' to 'mut'
      * Required mutable-local qualifier: 'let mut ...'
      * Basic glob-exporting: 'export foo::*;'
      * Alt now exhaustive, 'alt check' for runtime-checked
      * Block-function form of 'for' loop, with 'break' and 'ret'.

   * New library code
      * AST quasi-quote syntax extension
      * Revived libuv interface
      * New modules: core::{future, iter}, std::arena
      * Merged per-platform std::{os*, fs*} to core::{libc, os}
      * Extensive cleanup, regularization in libstd, libcore

[1] Contributors to Rust 0.2:

Aleksander Balicki
Austin Seipp
Brian Anderson
Chris Peterson
Damien Grassart
Daniel Brooks
Daniel Luz
Donovan Preston
Elly Fong-Jones
Erick Tryzelaar
Graham Fawcett
Grahame Bowland
Graydon Hoare
Haitao Li
Ian D. Bollinger
Jacob Parker
Jeff Olson
Jesse Ruderman
Joe Pletcher
Josh Matthews
Joshua Clark
Jyun-Yan You
Kevin Atkinson
Kevin Cantu
Lindsey Kuper
Magnus Auvinen
Marijn Haverbeke
Matt Brubeck
Matthew O'Connor
Niko Matsakis
Patrick Walton
Paul Woolcock
Rick Waldron
Roland Tanglao
Taras Shpot
Ted Horst
Tim Chevalier
Tom Lee
Tomoki Aonuma
Tycho Sci

More information about the Rust-dev mailing list